Author seeking help creating authentic Taiwanese character

I’m an author in the US writing my thirty-first novel, which features a Taiwanese hero who emigrated to the US with his parents when he was ten. I have done a great deal of research and have a native Taiwanese woman who will help me with questions and accuracy, but I’m always looking for more voices and input and am leery of relying on her voice alone to help correct me. I live in Iowa (the middle of the country) and I have never traveled to Taiwan.

What I’m hoping for is to be able to come to this thread and ask specific questions when I have them, but I’m also looking for anyone who might be willing to email/message with me offline for more in-depth questions, and my greatest hope is that I can find someone to read the full novel when the draft is finish to help me with a sensitivity read. That would be a paid position, and a priority would be given to someone who is LGBT, as this is a novel featuring a gay character.

Thank you in advance for any help you would be able to give me. I’ve enjoyed looking around this forum and hope to get to know you better. :smile:

If you’d like to learn more about me and my work before you reply, here is my Heidi Cullinan website.

Regards,

Heidi Cullinan

1 Like

Good luck :grinning:

A woman making a living writing about gay men. Is that not appropriation? And now moving into different ethnicities. I’m outraged.