Firefighter/Police/Disaster Relief Job Questions

Hello, good friends! Roughly over a year ago, I moved back to Taiwan with my family. I have been living in America just about my entire life. Currently, I’m looking for a new job. In the past, in Taiwan, I worked as an ESL teacher teaching physical ed using English. Now, my question is, is it difficult to find a job as a firefighter/cop/disaster relief helper? My Chinese is mediocre - I have taken Chinese courses (intermediate level) when I first got here. Will there be a huge problem if a language barrier exists? :confused:

How are the salaries now in 2016-2017? If my memory served me correctly, I recalled someone in here mentioning that firefighters make about 47,000NT a month.
http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-809412 <-- 2012. According to this, the Taiwanese firefighters make about 2,000USD dollars a month. So that is equivalent to 62,000NT. Not bad I suppose?

What about cops and disaster relief salaries?

I know this isn’t my last question but how do I go about applying for these jobs? Should I just walk into a station and ask if they are hiring or perhaps go to a website and apply there?

TL;DR - are firefighter, cops, disaster relief jobs worth it? Desperate to find a job - worried about my future.

Thank you and hope to hear from you! Any suggestions/tips would be appreciated!

You’re an ROC national with household registration, right?

Yes, I am.

You do realize that you may be living in close quarters in a dorm with all the other boys in blue/orange? Something to consider.

1 Like