Getting a University Job (PhD level)

Hi,

I’m a PhD student in the States looking for university level positions in Taiwan (Stanford Graduate School of Education, Learning Sciences). Has anyone gone through the process recently? Land jobs? How did it go? Ideally, I’d love to continue my research and teach, but happy to make some adjustments for the sake of moving (my wife is ABC; her parents live part-time in Taiwan). My Chinese language skills are weak: basic conversational and reading only.

The recruitment schedule seems to be later than in the States; earlier posts say Feb-May for the fall. That still true? I would be looking to work starting in the fall, 2018.

I have tried cold-emailing a couple of Taiwanese professors who do similar research, but no response so far (not expecting much). The Fulbright program seems possible, but I don’t have a sponsor without a connection there. Tealit doesn’t have anything right now, although I’m assuming it will pick up during recruitment season. Aside from that, the plan is to visit university websites looking for jobs during recruiting season (although given the academic schedule in the States, I may well have to pass on early job opportunities here first). The Ministry of Education has a U.S. location near where I live. Perhaps I’ll contact them, too.

Anything else that I should be looking into or doing? My sister-in-law mentioned that teaching at an English cram school can bring in good money; folks seem to have different opinions on this issue. It wouldn’t be my first choice, but I’d consider it.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and advice.

1 Like