Help Taz with iPhone or Smartphone Suggestions

Could you Forumosaners help me with some general and local info on what iphone/smartphone to get (or not get)?

Here’s my situation –

I don’t use my cell phone very much, but when I need it, I need it.

Within the past year I have taken two trips to the Japan, one to the UK, and one to the US, but I am a long-term resident in Taiwan. I set up my phone to be used internationally, but was only able to use it in the UK. I don’t know why it did not work in the US (Los Angeles), but I understand Japan’s system is quite different. I wound up renting a SoftBank phone in Kansai my last trip to Japan and spending Yen on it which could have been used for my own phone, I thought. Or could it?

During a week-long stay in LA earlier this month, I was quite frustrated. Not only didn’t my phone work, wireless access wasn’t as ubiquitous as I had expected. So I found myself carrying around a phone I couldn’t use, and a heavy laptop that I was able to use for research but not much for communication once I was out of my hotel room.

Further, last fall, I bought a new digital camera –

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=89018&start=70#p1230856

I love the camera, but this was a research trip, and I was mostly using it for snapshots and communication, e.g. like photographing an object and sending it a colleague for questions about stuff I was working on. Carrying the camera wasn’t a burden, but I had to manually transfer images which took time and I started thinking – “Why doesn’t someone put all this tech in one thiny?” Wait – :astonished: – You mean it’s been done? D’oh!

I’m taking this trip as a sign I ought to investigate getting an iphone or smartphone.

:help: :help: :help:

So here’s what I need in such a gadget, I think –

I will use it in Taiwan 99% of the time, so it has to be a good fit for the local environment. I live in Taichung, if that matters.