How to know what you're worth?

Hi,

I recently received a job offer but haven’t discussed the salary or hardly any of the terms of the contract yet. I have no real idea of what my services are worth so if anyone has any advice I would really appreciate the help.

A little about my situation:

The job I was offered is mostly related to sales and marketing but will also involve translation, editing, and a possibility for other things. In terms of the sales and marketing, I will be making video and pamphlet advertisements as well as working with the website designer on an English website. Along with that I will be the main person selling to the USA and Europe because the company is small, only 20-30 people work there, and I am the only westerner. There will also be monthly business trips to different countries to participate in exhibitions.

I have no experience in sales and marketing and I am very unfamiliar of what kind of salary a foreign worker should receive for doing this type of work.

Thank you for your help.

Oh dear. Unfortunately, this means you’re not worth a lot, or at least don’t have much of a negotiating position.

If you’re confident you can actually do the job, i.e., bring in some sales, you’ll need to be able to produce some evidence for it. Otherwise, it sounds very much like you’re the Token Foreigner and will be paid accordingly. No worries, suck it up for now and make your best effort to become extremely good at your job. You’ll then be in a much better position when it comes to discussing an end-of-year raise.

Having said that, your employer needs to pay you at least the minimum statutory amount for foreign white-collar jobs (which is about $60K/mo at the moment, I think), and you’ll want to ensure that all costs for your trips abroad will be paid for - I’ve heard of people having to pay out of their own pockets for meals, transport, etc.