How to Play Golf in Taiwan for Cheap (in Taiwan Standard)

Hey Forumosan!

I have been playing golf in Taiwan for the past several months and would like to share my experience for other expats or foreigners in Taiwan who would like to play golf as well. As we all know, golf is considered a luxury sport in Asia, not just Taiwan. But…

I was invited by a Taiwanese golfer/friend to a local Line golf group called Happy PGG Golf. I have searched on the forum but didn’t find any posts on PGG or even much on the subject on Golf.

So, going through this group, I am able to play at group discount rates, eg: usually around 2500 for the higher end courses such as Miramar or Sunrise Golf Clubs.

There are no membership fees, just pay and play for the days you want. From what it seems, they play once or twice a week usually, but it is not mandatory like other golf clubs to join, you can play when you want and where you want by adding a +1 on that event list as long as there is an opening.

If not, you can add yourself to the waiting list and they will let you know if you got in. It is a pretty relaxed group and like I’d stated above, not mandatory to play every game like with an official club, you only pay and play when you want.

However, I am the only foreigner there and sometimes would love to just meet and play with other foreigners. Not going though PGG, there are also “golf days” with most of the courses, such as New Tamshui Golf Club, which is just under 2K on Monday.

Not sure if there are any golfers left in Taiwan, since the last topic was opened in Sept '13. But if any Forumosan’s want to play, lets discuss more in this thread! I would love to have golf buddies in Taiwan just like back in the US!

Richard

IGST - Google it

International Golf Society of Taipei, thanks but I already knew that. However, like I was saying, it is a club with membership fees.

I am looking for more of a casual golfing with friends and buddies like back in the US.