Is teacher certification worth getting?

My husband recently got a relocation offer to move to Taipei. If we take the offer and everything goes through we would be moving to Taipei sometime in the next year. I would like to also look for an English teaching job in Taipei. My degree is in English and I have worked previously as a technical writer, though I have been staying home the past few years with our kids. The past few days I have found a few programs locally where I could potentially get my teacher certification before we would need to move. My question is - is it worth getting a certification? And what subject areas are most in demand? Although my degree is English, my husband’s software job does a lot in the math education industry, so for me there is an appeal for getting certified in math as well as English.

Thanks so much for your advice!

1 Like

First we need to ask if your husband is Taiwanese (ROC national with household registration), because in that case you don’t need a work permit once you have an ARC.

Assuming he’s not Taiwanese, if you have a passport from a country Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs considers English speaking, basically all you need to teach English in a buxiban (“cram school”) is a degree in any subject.

They set the bar higher if you want to teach in a “school” (public or private), even if you don’t need a work permit. A search through previous threads can shed some light on this.

Under current laws, you can’t get a work permit to teach math in a buxiban, and you can’t get a work permit to do private tutoring (though some buxibans have 1-on-1 classes and may offer them off-site). Under a recently passed law to attract foreign talent, it should be possible to teach other subjects in a buxiban, but we’re still waiting for the subsidiary regulations and the announcement of when the new law will come into effect.

Yes.
Do it.
It will open doors for you to much higher paying jobs at public, private and international schools.