Need advice about my career

I am a native Mandarin Chinese speaker but I was born in the United States and can speak fluent English. I was a law student and I first came to Taiwan trying to apply for my LLM (Master of Laws) degree at Taiwan University, unfortunately my application failed. :cry:

Without getting an offers, now I am trying to seek for a job in Taiwan to extend my stay, I tried to apply as an English teacher (I hold a US passport), but they rejected me because the interviewer claimed that I am ā€œChineseā€ and not a ā€œWesternerā€ (there is no anti-discrimination law in Taiwan). I can speak English, Mandarin Chinese, Taiwanese and Cantonese, I am trying to look for a translation related jobs, what are my chances of finding a job in Taiwan. P.S although I am Chinese but I hold a US passport, I am considered a US national not a Taiwanese citizen as I have no dual Nationalities.

Donā€™t take this the wrong way (as Iā€™m not trying to be insulting), but your misuse of punctuation and run on sentences kind of indicates that your speaking may not be the accent they are looking for.

If youā€™ve got a US passport and a bachelorā€™s degree then you are able to teach. Youā€™ll have to push yourself because you wonā€™t look the part, but thereā€™s no legal reason why you canā€™t teach in Taiwan.

Iā€™ve yet to meet a Taiwanese buxiban owner who could tell the difference between any English speaking accent. It could be a kiwi, saffer, limey, yank or eskimo - they wouldnā€™t have a fucking clue.