Share experience on building a forum site

Dear seguer,

Been reading the thread on building a forum site. Did you chronicle your experience when you build segue or other site you worked on?

I have no previous experience. Can you share with me a bit?
My pop up questions would be:

If I have my site at spaceport.com for instance. What softwares I need to download and how to install them?

What kind of administrative works I have to perform.

Else, if I setup my own server here. What OS, and HTTP server do I need to install, what DB, and PHP software I need to install?

I really have no idea…a total layman…

your experience and insight is highly appreciated…

best regards
anton xie

Hi Anton,

I really don’t have experience but I have read a little about how to set up phpbb (the one this site uses), including the step-by-step instructions at the link Gus provided. All you have to do is follow them. I’m going to fool around with it myself. Have already signed up for a Lycos UK free hosting account to practice with since my current host doesn’t give me the access I need.

J.

the link Gus provided would be… where???
I know search the archives … throw a dog a bone

Bassman,

Links provided by Gus:

phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t= … ght=tripod

members.lycos.co.uk/TCEInHeaven/ … c.php?t=19

J.

thanks … I got to the bit where it said that the board was a lot of hard work to do and I quickly closed the window… I think I’ll stick to my discussion board on MSN.

Yeeesh , hard work…ahhhhhhh.

Thanks, I actually will use it when I get some time.

Bassman,

From what Gus has said, it shouldn’t be hard (as long as you don’t mess with it by adding all the extra goodies).

J.

building a forum site is relatively easy.

1-Figure out where you are going to host it. most hosting services would provide you with disk space and other things. This way, you don’t need to set up your own coputer with OS and other goodies.