Should I come to Taiwan? (I'm sure this gets asked every other day)

Hello Forumosa,

I visited Taipei in December and really loved it. I’m currently teaching in South Korea and am considering making the move to Taiwan. My current job will finish October 20th.

I have 3 years experience (cram schools where I was mostly treated well)
A 120-TEFL cert
Bachelors degree unrelated to teaching

Goals:

1. Gain a new perspective to see if I like teaching.
  2. Save between 21-22K NT per month
  3. Experience living in a new country

Questions:

1. What’s a realistic salary for me? I know the minimum salary for new teachers is 600 NT (although I’ve seen offers for 570) I have teaching experience so I’m hoping for 650-700.

2. What’s the job market like around December-January? (I plan to work / live outside Taipei to save money). I prefer mid to large cities so I can meet people and do things.

3. I see a lot about this 18% tax rule. If I arrive in December or January will that affect me?

1 Like

You can expect around $600/h, but some will offer less without being in any legal danger. (There is no minimum rate for buxiban teachers, other than the Basic Wage, about $21,000/m for full-time work or iirc $133/h. It goes up once in a while.)

Tax-wise, the ideal time to start work is January, but CNY makes that difficult. If you start work in mid-December, you may earn less than 1.5x the Basic Wage, in which case your non-resident withholding rate for the month is only 6%.

Think you will do just fine
Just have to get an apt and have to hussle a bit