Teaching in Taiwan and Discrimination/Racism

Hello Everyone!

I’d like to share my experience as a teacher in Taiwan. Maybe I can help someone from going through what I went through.

I studied in Taiwan, and later on I applied to teach Math in a tutoring school in Tianmu, Taipei. Its name by that time was TutorME, but I think right now they changed it to TeachME, for some reason.

I’m from Central America, and I was in my home country when I applied for this job. I was interviewed a couple of times through Skype and was asked to give a Demo which the owner liked, and she hired me.
Ok, so great! I got the job, and I’m going back to Taiwan!! So the next thing I did was ask the embassy of Taiwan in my country about the visa procedures and things I needed to do.
They asked me to tell my boss to give me a copy of my work contract, this way I could enter the country with a resident visa, and apply for ARC when I was in Taiwan.
Ok, so I go and ask y boss and she goes like No! I won’t give you a work contract, I’ve had people of your country working for me before and no one ever asked for this, you should apply for a 30 day e-visa, and when you’re here we’ll do the rest. If you don’t do this you may have problems when you go through immigration here in Taiwan.
So I didn’t want any of that to happen or to have problems with my new boss and went ahead and did that.
Just Clarifying that I had to get a loan to cover the high expenses that it takes to get to Taiwan and cover rent, and personal expenses for the first month in Taiwan until I got payed.