Tutoring (newbie) question??

I moved back up Taipei, because I have an exciting job opportunity at the end of the month, and because I missed the city. But, this job opportunity doesn’t start until the end of the month, when the person who was nice enough to offer it to me returns. Until then, I need to earn money. I am a newbie at gathering information on this particular topic. But I have two questions that may I please ask will you help me with.

1.) Is tutoring for money illegal in Taiwan.
2.) If not, how do you get clients?

I’ll wait for others to verify your first question, but for your second question:

Referrals.

1 Like

For your first question, if you have a work permit allowing the tutoring, it is legal.

1 Like

Similar to the answer above - if you have a visa status (eg. JFRV) or legal status (eg. Dual Nationality) that gives you the same rights as a normal Taiwanese person, then it is legal.

2 Likes

And working holiday visa.

1 Like

Only if you declare it and file taxes on the income.
If you don’t, it’s still illegal, just like anywhere else in the world, irrespective of work permit.

2 Likes

I have people occasionally ask me to come to their house for 5-10 hours a week and talk in English with them and or their kids.

They offer around 1000 an hour plus other extras. I’m not interested but I say go for it.

1 Like

Not quite…

Anyway, you need to abide by the Income Tax Act, but failure to do so would not make the tutoring itself illegal (i.e. you wouldn’t be fined and deported for violating the Employment Service Act).

If it’s true (as it seems to be) that the JFRV (visa) itself does not indicate permission to work, we should say if you have a marriage-based ARC you have open work rights.

The type of work permit tando is talking about is the type you can get if you have an APRC. Iow, the average foreigner cannot legally work as a tutor.

It’s possible that the “employment gold card” will allow tutoring, but that’s still just a proposal.