Work as a copy editor/ journalist. Where to look?

Hello there -

I’m a British newspaper journalist with five years’ experience and I’m hoping to move to Taiwan soon. Which is the best website for vacancies for this kind of work? I have found a couple on taiwanted.com, but there have not been many.

I’m hoping to work as a copy editor on a newspaper, English language magazine, or business to business publication. I’m very flexible.

Any tips would be gratefuly received.

Such jobs are few and far between. Taiwanted.com and Tealit.com in the jobs offered - non-teaching sections. Occasionally jobs are advertised in the newspapers and magazines themselves, or on their web sites.

There was an ad in the China Post on Sunday.

No offense, but I’m guessing that five years’ experience on a real English newspaper would make you extremely unhappy with what you’ll be doing here (or what changes are subsequently made to it without your knowledge…) :noway:

[quote=“chinamac79”]Hello there -

I’m a British newspaper journalist with five years’ experience and I’m hoping to move to Taiwan soon. Which is the best website for vacancies for this kind of work? I have found a couple on taiwanted.com, but there have not been many.

I’m hoping to work as a copy editor on a newspaper, English language magazine, or business to business publication. I’m very flexible.

Any tips would be gratefuly received.

Neil Macfarlane[/quote]

Government agencies -MOFA, MOE, etc.
Trade agencies as TAITRA, trade offices.
City government level, too.

Check each website for openings.

That’s fine. I’ll happily put up with that as long as I can trade life in rainy North-East England for tropical Taiwan!

You mean rainy Taibei? Might I suggest heading further south during your search?