6 months parental leave can be taken by father?

Hi

My wife (Taiwanese) is telling me that I can take 6 months off at 60% pay as we have a child under the age of 3. I have been working full time at my current job for 3 years, my wife is not working and we have 3 kids (youngest is under 2). To me it seems to be too good to be true as usually these sort of schemes are only for the mother and only if both parents are working (My wife also seems to misunderstand things often as well). Does anyone know if it really is the case I can do this?

I haven’t seen anyone else in the office take that sort of time off. I don’t want to seem stupid going to HR and asking unless I am quite confident that I have the correct information. Our HR is useless and probably wouldn’t know the law anyway. I would have to supply them with the exact information. The company I work for (not teaching) has always followed all the legal laws here (in my experience) so I think they would honour any requirement if it is by law.

Here is the link my wife gave me (it’s in chinese)
https://www.bli.gov.tw/0017299.html?fbclid=IwAR2wRagcPb1AXHzdUzlqUlMzRSty-QigrvSuSyrYNK77IfTzjhUXDHaoduk

Thanks.

As far as I know, it is true, you can take up to 6 months leave.
I’m not sure about the requirement of both parents need to be working and I didn’t find it in the link you’ve shared.
Perhaps @tando can throw a light on this?
One point to notice tho, it’s that the 60% pay is based on the insured salary, not the full salary. This means that if your salary is above the ceiling (about 45k/m, which is the most case for white collar foreigners), you’ll get 60% of that, which is something about 27k.

1 Like

Was getting all exciting about my upcoming holiday until I seen that!

So was I, I knew it must have been too good to be true in some way :frowning:

Regulations for Implementing Unpaid Parental Leave for Raising Children
https://law.moj.gov.tw/ENG/LawClass/LawAll.aspx?pcode=N0030018

Article 2