A budding musician want to enter Chinese music/film market

Greetings everybody, ni hao? :slight_smile:
I’m a new member here.
Nice to know you all ^^

A bit of background & introduction information: I am a 28-year old musician/composer/songwriter here in Indonesia (I am male), and have past experiences and projects in music here, I am of Chinese ethnicity (here in Indonesia, it’s called “hua ren”)
but I’ve decided to really pursue the bigger market, which is Chinese market (although preferably Asian market as well, ie: Chinese/Japanese/Korea),
as a lot of people have told me my music will fit well in the “Asian market”.
You can hear some of my music compositions sample here: nikiwonoto.com
and my Myspace: youtube.com/nikiwonoto

So that is for a bit of info about myself.
Now, as I’ve recently browsed and read a good lot of informative and detailed posts here in this website/forum,
I do want to ask you few urgent-pressing things, and this is also related with ultimately my decision & future:

1. Speaking of music and movie/film scene in general, which one do you think nowadays have more good prospect and also for the future: Mainland China (ie: Beijing? Shanghai?), or Taiwan?
    As I am also a budding musician/songwriter/composer, trying to expand my career into Chinese market (while also take language school for about 1/2 year)

2. If given only a 1/2 year chance by my parents (especially father), where would you suggest me to go as for the good prospects/chances for music and movie/film, between those two?
    This means I have to really make the BEST, right-est and most efficient decision of which country I should best pursue my Music career to expand.

Please be as objective and honest/straight-forward as possible in your opinion or advices.

I really hope I can hear back from you guys, as this is really important for my ultimate decision very soon.
Thank you very much!

1 Like

6 months to crack either market? Nuts.