A Pictorial Tribute to Lovely Linkou

How lucky we are in Linkou to have such splendid hiking options right on our doorstep! This is one of the most alluring.

Oh, how I’ve been kicking myself for living in Xindian for two decades and spending thousands of hours in those horribly natural, unconcreted hills and streams around Wulai when I could have been enjoying the lovely enhancements of the environment offered by Linkou.

WTF? I don’t know where Linkou is, but you seemed to be sincerely extolling the virtues of the place, whereas all I see in those pics are incinerators, trash, landfills, pig farms and pig shit. :ponder:

Sarcasm, methinks.
I used to go hiking/running in the hills up from the coast, through the golf courses and the abandoned bunkers. That was before it literally became a dumping ground for construction refuse from Taipei and Taoyuan.
The expressway and the incinerator on the water don’t help either.
Hardly a single nice area left up there.

I have many fond memories of bonfires on Garbage Beach.

Oh no, there’s much more than that. There are streams of household sewage and industrial effluent, mountains of scrap metal and MRT excavation waste, a power station, endless vistas of concrete, and all manner of other delights.

You’re not one of those environmentalist, anti-progress lefties who are incapable of appreciating all of this loveliness, are you, MT?

You state a gret case for living where you do.

I hope you are happy, thank God Changgeng hospital is close, if you after a nice hike decide to try to blow your brains out in joy over all the natural beauty surrounding you.

How much money can you get for recycling plastic bottles etc?

Where do you have to take it?

I saw an old guy on TV who set up a plastic recycling depot in his living room and he seemed to be doing alright. Plus it would be a great way to meet chicks.

Thanks.

Nice one, bob! great way to meet chicks (if you are into septuagenarians with overloaded scooters).