Aaaaaaaargh!

I just arrived in Taipei about a week and a half ago – the first time in my life to set foot in a Chinese-speaking land. I came here right after graduating from college, where I studied Chinese for four years. Despite the thousands and thousands of hours that I have spent studying back in the states and my decent grasp of the written language, I find that I can understand next to nothing of what people say to me here unless they significantly slow down their speech, and even then I frequently have to ask them to repeat themselves several times. Needless to say, I find this extremely frustrating. Often when I’m with a group of (Chinese-speaking) people and everybody else gets the joke but me (I’m not aware that a joke was being told till everybody else starts laughing…) I feel like screaming.

Anybody else with this kind of experience? How long did it take you before you could follow typical conversation? Any advice?

Maybe you’re having some problems adapting to the slight differences between the Taiwan version of Mandarin and the Beijing one. If you like, we could meet up some time and I could give you some tips. Anyway, with any foreign language you learn there tend to be differences between what you learn in books and the way people actually talk on the street. I have the same problem in a big way with French.

About a year of heavy drinking in the Bushiban (pub).

Patience, man. It takes a while to adjust to the speed and inflections used here. Learning a language in a classroom is a far cry from learning it on the streets.

Get yourself a small notebook and a pen that you can keep in your pocket, and start writing down what people say. This will help you with vocabulary and word choice. The listening aspect of things is just going to take a little time. Enjoy the process, rather than fighting against it.