Academic record reqs. for Shida - How strict are they?

I’ve been coming to Taiwan on and off for 5 years on visitor visas but I’m now in a position where I am able to put time towards studying Chinese in Taipei.

So I’m thinking of going to Shida, but I have few concerns regarding the application. :slight_smile:

I just wanted some peace of mind that I wouldn’t have trouble with numbers 2 and 3 of the application requirements listed here: http://www.mtc.ntnu.edu.tw/apply.html
My grades during High School (in New Zealand) were great initially, then pretty average. From there I didn’t go to University, instead going to a technical institute to study various short-mid length courses (design/computer programming etc), however none of those amount in anything but certificates of attendance. I have since studied Chinese part-time at University (2 hours per week for 1 year) and received A+ (95% or higher) in each of the 3 exams. Will that be enough to satisfy Shida?

I’m currently here for 3 months on a visitor visa (no-extension/single-entry) and leave on the 20th March.

I guess it’s unavoidable that I have to go back home to get all my school records organised, letter of recommendation, plus have the health checks etc., so I guess I’ll be aiming to have it all sorted for the April 30 deadline. That gives me 40 days, which I would think is plenty of time, right?

You can try to E-mail or phone them.
That will be the easier and faster way to know.

Good luck!

[quote=“wisher”]You can try to E-mail or phone them.
That will be the easier and faster way to know.

Good luck![/quote]

No it wouldn’t; ShiDa’s MTC office staff are obnoxious, rude and don’t speak English so 'phoning them is not recommended.