Advice for an aspiring freelance editor

I’ve been a writer and editor for several years in Taiwan. I don’t see any long-term chances of advancing in my field, so I’m thinking about moving into freelance work. I hope that will allow me to spend more time with my growing family and let me keep an income in case we have to leave Taiwan for health or war or something. I probably want to start small with the little free time I have and if I can make a go of it, I’d leave this job, maybe working part-time until I got enough clients.
I have an APRC, but I don’t speak Chinese.
What do I need to know, consider, or work towards if I’m going to do this in Taiwan? Do I work as self-employed or do I become my own company? I’ve read companies in Taiwan pay little, so am I better off looking for work abroad, or do legal or tax issues make it better to work for clients in Taiwan? I can write well, but overthinking makes me slow. Is there enough work to do editing alone?
How does one find clients? I’ve tried before on UpWork with some success, but the amount of time it takes to find a client, the costs, and the competition from people with more experience make it unappealing. Also, it pays into my US bank account and that means I pay US taxes on it. I already have a very very small online business that I can’t seem to scale and taxes take enough of that.
Speaking of which, if I need to be a business, is it better to register and/or get paid abroad and transfer money here, or just get paid to a local account?
Are there any problems or pitfalls, or even advantages, that I should know about?

That’ll work against you in Taiwan, as most of the English documents that need editing are translations from Chinese. You can only “edit” so much before you need to verify something against the original Chinese text. A bilingual English editor will always have an edge over you.

2 Likes