Advice on studying in taiwan

Hello I am a college student and I want to study Chinese in Taiwan. I have been doing a lot of research and I would like to ask a few questions? I am thinking of studying outside of Taipei probably in the south. I want to study in the south because of the weather and the cost of living is much cheaper. I know Taiwanese is spoken more in the south. Will it be harder to learn Chinese in a city like Taichung, Tainan, or Kaohsiung? Also I know a lot of people come here on tourist visas and then find a job and switch it to an ARC. Can I do the same thing with Schools, or would it be better to apply for a school first and do it that way. I would really like to come over first and look at schools and find the right place for me, can I do this without going home? Also I know the Taiwanese government gives out scholarships to study Chinese. Would I be able to apply if I am already in the country? I would appreciate any advice.

Yes studying in a city other than Taipei will have lower cost of living and arguably offer a better environment to learn chinese as there are less english speakers. There is no such thing as a tourist visa, you can either have a visitor visa or visa-exempt entry (no visa can stay 30-90 days with no extension). Depending what country you are from you will have different rules. Usually in order to get a visitor visa (which is extendable and can be changed to ARC) you need to enrol first in a language school. If you want to come to Taiwan first, then you can enter with visa-exempt, travel around a bit and then decide to enrol somewhere. After this you probably need to travel to Hong Kong to apply for a visitor visa and then come back to taiwan. For studying chinese the first 4 months you will use a visitor visa but if you study for longer than 4 months you must change to an ARC which gives you insurance I believe.