Advise a newbie

I’m a recent graduate looking for a teaching job in Taipei. I don’t have experience, but I’m not a slacker and I have an earnest desire to teach.

In my research of potential employers, I’ve concluded I have two main options:

1. Work for a year with one of the big guys: HESS, Kojen/ELSI, Joy, etc.

or

1. Pick a smaller school, that may or may not be able to get me a legit ARC.

I really want to work legally, but I’m turned off by the mixed reviews of the big cram schools. Are there really smaller schools out there, that provide a supportive, structured working environment?

What I’ve read (for the most part) on forums such as this one, is scathing critiques of a number of schools. Can anyone fully endorse a smaller school or chain to work for?

If not, what would you do if you were in my shoes?

It’s a total lottery. Even amongst chains there are immense differences between the branches. Get over here, check into a hostel, get yourself down to the pub, and start asking around. Spend two weeks looking and then choose something.

If you want to stay long term get a job at a chain (ELSI/Joy/HESS) stick out your first year on the ARC, and by the end of it you’ll know what’s what.

If you just want to make a quick buck, sit by the phone in the hostel, always be first to answer it, and take every job offered, going to Honkers every two months til they won’t let you back in again.