Akebia longeracemosa seeds

Good day from the Netherlands!
I’m a hobbyist growing all kinds of climbing plants. The most beautiful ones (real tropical) will not grow here, as we can have winters with snow and frost. Recently, however, I found the Taiwanese Chocolate Vine (Akebia longeracemosa) online, which looks really beautiful! Is this a plant you would normally find in Taiwan? Would anyone here be willing to sell me some seeds, so I could try to grow them here in Europe?

Best regards,
Hans

My local A-Ma store keeps trying to sale me a fruit that looks very familiar. Next time I visit I will show her pics and see if it is the same vine you are asking about. She says it’s rare and only knows the local Taiwanese name so not sure if I can get the Mandarin name.

長序木通 or 台灣木通

1 Like

Some Chocolate Vine variants are considered invasive species so check carefully your local laws before considering cultivating.

3 Likes

Akebia has been on my wishlist for some time now. Would you be interested in sending some fruit by mail? I assume you’re not in Taipei?

This should be obvious, but check the biosecurity laws in your country before attempting to do this. As seeds tend to have rather strict laws attached to them because of concerns with invasive species. For example it is not legal to import any seeds at all to Australia, at least not without permits or such.

Thank you for your replies. We do have other chocolate vines for sale here in the Netherlands, I’ve just planted two to see if they will be flowering and produce fruits. However, the Taiwanese longeracemosa one is the most beautiful one (and hardest to get).
As the Netherlands has a temperate climate we don’t have too many problems with invasive species. Importing of seeds and plants is allowed for personal use.

Thank you, that would be great!