Am I being unreasonable with wanting my deposit back?

[quote=“UltimateMeiMei, in her original post,”]Here’s the gist:

-Moved into an apartment w/2 British guys last month. Moved to Taipei without any knowledge of the city and now dread my daily 40 min or so commute to Shi-Da. It’s about 1.3 km/1 mile to the closest MRT station.

-Kind of expensive, NT10,000/month for small room, share bathroom with guy & his girlfriend (though didn’t mention this at first).

-Paid deposit of NT20,000. Verbal agreement that I’d stay for about 3 months.

-Since I’m a student, my parents pay for everything. They’re unhappy with my living situation and want me to move out at the end of the month, so I just let my roomies know & said I would put ads up.

MAIN PROBLEM: I can’t get my NT20,000 deposit back because I’m breaking a verbal agreement of being here for 3 months.

Is this “right”? Do I have no choice but to relinquish my deposit to them? The landlady won’t get involved because she said I rented from the 2 guys, not from her.[/quote]
Problem solved, thanks guys! I must edit/delete this post because both read Forumosa so I don’t want to create more animosity or uncomfortability between us. Thank you two for your advice :slight_smile:

[color=red]Admin: I was able to reconstruct the basic elements of your post but left out any part that might “create more animosity or uncomfortability” between you and your roomomates. Hope this works for you…[/color]

I’d say they are right, because you are breaking the (verbal) lease. Still, if I were in your roommates’ situation, I would give you back the deposit and chalk it up to bad lack.
If I were you, I’d stay the three months and get the money back.
Or: be less and less agreeable - don’t avoid going home - go home and use the facilities you’ve paid for. Maybe they will get so annoyed that they will want you to leave, in which case you can agree to go only if they give back the deposit.