Any recommended tax professionals?

I’m looking for a company that will basically take my tax slips and file my Taiwan taxes for me (for a fee, obviously). I am tax resident solely of Taiwan, no other countries. I just have never filed in Taiwan yet (this is my first time), so I’d rather have a professional do it for me. Something like the Taiwan equivalent of H&R Block?

It’s ridiculously easy to file taxes in Taiwan, especially if you’re only tax resident here and only earning money as an employee here, even if you read zero Chinese.

I’m sure you’ll find companies willing to charge you for it, but if you’ve got the brain cells to hold down a job you honestly don’t need one.

Besides what you wrote already, is your situation pretty “normal”, e.g., working for a Taiwanese company, all local income?

2 Likes

I moved to Taiwan part way through 2022. Work for a Taiwanese company. No foreign income. I did wire cash over when I first arrived but Taiwan better not consider that as foreign “income”.

I haven’t really even taken a stab at it myself so if it’s as easy as you say maybe I’ll be fine without. Is it all filed online? Or is it hard-copy?

Just take your withholding slip to the tax office during tax season. The earlier the better. They have assistants who will help you fill out the form and file. Completely free and they’re very helpful. The system here isn’t adversarial like in some countries…unless you’re actually trying to do something shady.

5 Likes

I don’t believe the savings or whatever you wired would be considered “income” (though it might depend on how you declared it when it arrived at the Taiwanese bank, not sure - but nothing I’ve ever wired to myself has appeared on my Taiwan tax returns). I’d just forget about that for now, unless it appears on the tax software automatically.