Any way to borrow a car to practice driving without a license?

Hey guys, I’m turning 18 in less than a month and want to get my driver’s license. I’m moving to the US in August, but prefer to get a license here due to personal reasons. My mom suggested driving school, but it’s expensive and I don’t want to burden her financially. Also heard they don’t actually prepare people for the real world and I barely know any Chinese. She has friends with cars, but I doubt they would let a 17 year old drive their car. Do you guys have any suggestions? Wish it was as easy getting a hold of a scooter lol.

You should go to driving school since the Taiwanese test is about passing the test and not the actual driving. I am a competent driver with 10+ years experience before I took the Taiwanese one, driving always came very natural to me. I also did a lot of kart racing when I was a teen around the country and had 2 karts to race with every week so that’s probably why. And even then…I am glad I went to 1-2 lessons. It’s about knowing how to pass the course.

Since you don’t know how to even drive, you will fail without practicing the course for sure.

I would suggest you do it in the US if you don’t know Chinese. The English written test sucks and is worded strangely. Many people fail for this reason, I think I actually failed the first time by 1 question in English. My school was nice and let me retake it again. Something you won’t have if you do it on your own.

1 Like

it’s only 10000 TWD to go to school mate. Also depending where you go in the US getting a licence can be as easy as driving around the block.

Go to a legitimate driving school in the US. Learn proper safety techniques and defensive driving skills, not how to turn the wheel in a reverse S-curve.

Your life (and the lives of others) depends on it.

(Note: do this regardless of whether you take the test and get a license first here in Taiwan.)

5 Likes

Be smart and do it in the US. August is not long.