Anyone flying Taiwan > USA? (I need a broken smartphone delivered home in USA)

Hey there, fellow humans! <3

I broke my recently new Google Pixel 2 phone whilst long distance cycling in the rain around Taiwan. After researching many options to fix it (including asking repair shops in Taiwan, which isn’t a solution as the parts / this phone is not produced here), the best and cheapest solution seems to be to mail it to Google HQ in USA (country of original purchase), where it will be fixed (and likely replaced given my warranty).

I tried mailing the phone from Taiwan > USA, but the package was returned because it contained a battery. (I can’t read or speak Mandarin so I didn’t notice batteries weren’t allowed in the signs at the Taiwan post office).

I’d love to see the phone fixed at some point! I’ve been enjoying a digital detox without the phone for 2+ months now, and soon I will also appreciate it again for some creative projects~

Currently, a friend in Taiwan is holding onto the phone for me, as I moved to Cambodia for the next few months (I live/travel according to different projects).

Could you or someone you know travelling to the USA, bring the phone with you, and then mail the phone to California?

As I am neither in Taiwan or the USA soon to do this myself, I wonder if anyone would be open to helping? Let me know what you’d like in exchange, like cash, or other things abundant in my life that you may be interested in.

Thank you muchly :)!

Take the battery out and send it?

1 Like

Many modern phones don’t have removable batteries.

Which is why customers must demand it. The non removable battery is a terrible idea and their face saving excuse of a thinner phone saves you like 1 mm. I demand removable batteries in my phones and i usually buy a few per year. Its ones of those things that if customers demand something the company will follow based on profit rather than other less than ideal reasons.