Apartments AND/OR hotels in Yilan County

Hey everyone, this is my first post.

My wife and I are moving to Taiwan in 6-8 weeks from America. I am a PhD student in Asian philosophy/religion who will be working primarily on pre-dissertation research, (done with all courses except for independent studies and comps).

My wife is a teacher/educator/former principal.

We applied for the MOE scholarship for language enrichment but for some reason did not get it, (told us today…quite late in the game). The program we had originally planned on going to at Fo Guang U. is near Yilan, where we still want to love for a) the cost, b) we both love nature, c) its close enough to Taipei and d) again THE COST. I can also utilize FGU’s library and facilities for research, with the occasional trip to Taipei and the universities there.

So we are still planning on going, picking up the language through immersion and self-study, (we both actually did this in Israel, before we ever met actually and were able to do it) I also know a few thousand classical Chinese characters, so I am not too worried about getting the language after being there a few months. If we could find another, cheaper, part time program to learn the language that would of course be an added bonus.

What we are looking for

1. Cheap temporary accommodations in Yilan county for when we first get there. Anything above a hostel that we can afford. Any sort of sublets or month-month arrangements would be ideal.