Apple IOS: iPhone, iPad-Why? Mac- I somewhat understand

My background is computer tech support.
I started with DOS, wordstar, Word Perfect, Lotus 123 all the way to Modern Windows. I’m not a programmer or developer, I’m just a guy who sits between the end user and the product. And I often write illustrated guides for some of my friends.
When I was first exposed to the Macintosh operating system as a product librarian from micro Warehouse, , I thought it was great. Just pictures instead of looking at strings of text and batch files.
But, I could do everything on it that I could do with the PC. It was just was easier.

So now I have an iPad. It looks nice, it’s thin but I can’t even download PDFs from the browser. I can’t connect to our home that works shared drive where I keep our movies, music and teaching materials.
The iPad is not in my name so I’m not using my credit card to buy any paid software. It’s a loaner.
One of my students has an iPhone. It doesn’t even have an SD card.
I want to transfer some copyright free audio books directly to him or share some
old public domain movies that are on my cards or even my shared drive.

What gives? Who wants to buy a computer that won’t let you share with others and play nice with others? What is the reason people are buying the iOS?
Maybe as a DOS Windows user I just can’t feel it.
I may buy the iPad from my friend if I can get a decent priced lightning to USB adapter that will allow me to use the mouse. Since I own Microsoft office out right I have privileges of using the Apple version which I must say is kind of superior. But I need the mouse.
Apple wants $1,000 Plus for their so-called camera USB adapter which can access the mouse. That seems like a lot of money. Does anybody have any experience with a cheaper OTG devices available from third parties?
Wait you guys are Apple fans you like to pay full price.

1 Like

I can do more with my android phone that is more versatile than my Mac or iPad.