APRC and "expert in high-tech field"

Hello all,

I’m a newcomer to this website, and though I’ve not found anything related to my question so far, my big apologies if this question has been answered elsewhere in the past.

I’m not in Taiwan, but I’m in touch with a company likely to have me located there.
My concern is my wife is Chinese (mainland china citizenship), and I’d like her to be able to live… and work in Taiwan!

The most reliable solution we’ve seen so far is for me to get the APRC, and then it seems like if I have it, she can have a working license painlessly.

Now, we don’t plan to wait for 5 years for that! So I’ve read that you can get the APRC if you are recognized as “expert in a high-tech field needed by Taiwan”. But this is not what I would qualify “clear and precise”…
I hold a PhD in micro-technology and have some experience in the industry, but I have absolutely no idea how tough it is to get the APRC based on your “high-tech expertise”.

Does anyone here have any kind of feedback about his/her own experience or heard of someone who went though this?

Thanks in advance!

[quote=“maclag”]Hello all, I’m a newcomer to this website, and though I’ve not found anything related to my question so far, my big apologies if this question has been answered elsewhere in the past.

I’m not in Taiwan, but I’m in touch with a company likely to have me located there.
My concern is my wife is Chinese (mainland china citizenship), and I’d like her to be able to live… and work in Taiwan!

The most reliable solution we’ve seen so far is for me to get the APRC, and then it seems like if I have it, she can have a working license painlessly. Now, we don’t plan to wait for 5 years for that! So I’ve read that you can get the APRC if you are recognized as “expert in a high-tech field needed by Taiwan”. But this is not what I would qualify “clear and precise”…