Are cover letters required in Taiwan?

After visiting Taiwan and falling in love with Taiwanese people, I have decided that I want to move there. I’m a Software Engineer and I read this related topic https://tw.forumosa.com/t/software-developer-in-taiwan-with-experience-and-without-computer-science-degree.

But something I haven’t been able to find is info about what tech recruiters expect from a job application. I am familiar with emigrating and applying to jobs in different countries (I have lived in 4), but I have no clue if cover letters are an essential part of a job application in Taiwan.

Also, I am applying from overseas (New Zealand), so I want to maximize my chances of, at least, getting some replies.

Are there any other Developers who have gotten jobs before arriving in Taiwan?

Any advice is appreciated.
谢谢

Do you know any Chinese speakers? A lot of employers like to use 104.com.tw or 1111.com.tw

I’d suggest using those websites to have employers find you. Handing out CVs just doesn’t work all that well in Taiwan. 9/10 times, jobs for foreigners go on the Teaching English site and are usually directed towards English teachers.

By the way, I might know someone who wants extra devs. Please PM me with the languages you know. Thanks!

And yes, they ask for cover letters on the sites. Please also include a picture of your face on your CV. I know I know about the potential for discrimination but thats how it is.

@Marco thanks for the reply.

I know many Mandarin speakers, but I do not speak it. I had a look on LinkedIn and found many listings written in English, so I’m planning on applying to those.

Picture in CV? I’m Surprised.

I suggest asking your Chinese-speaking friends to help you navigate the two job websites I provided. Both are chinese only and they are the biggest.