Asset management in Taiwan

Hey there,

I am an European national legally resident of Taiwan. I am new to investing and trading, but I need to start as having money parked in the bank makes no sense.

I don’t think I’d see myself getting into direct buying of stock, forex and so on. However, from what I started reading, a good idea could be using an asset/financial manager and invest into index funds. I looked at Vanguard and Interactive Brokers. Problem: their asset management services are not available to non-US residents.

From what I’m reading one could use a broker from Taiwan. That’s where I’m less confident though. Vanguard and IB have online accounts in English, or even mobile apps. I don’t speak Chinese and mobile banking in Taiwan is pretty much horrible, regardless of language.

Ideally I would do everything by myself online if it were possible. With IB I can open an account but that’s for their direct trading and buying stocks. Something I don’t have the skills, experience or time to do.

What would you do?

What I would do: Open a brokerage account with Interactive Brokers. This is a pain in the ass but it can be done if you have the patience to get through their paperwork requirements.

Once the account is open, you can buy ETFs directly online, and you do not have to be a US citizen to do this. For example, SPY (this is a stock ticker) gives you the S&P 500 and the management fee is incredibly low at 9 basis points (0.09%), which is similar to what Vanguard charges for its non-ETF funds (SPY is managed by State Street). SPY is currently yielding 1.8% but the tax man will skim off part of that. I believe the tax rate is 30% for nonresident aliens but do check on that. Also, please don’t take this as an investment recommendation – the S&P 500 mostly goes up, but sometimes it goes down. If you don’t like SPY, there are thousands of others to choose from.