Avoid tuttle 'chinese in a flash' flash cards

I bought 3 of the 4 boxes of these before realizing the error of my ways. I’m going to list some of the problems I found with them below and hopeful people can give me feeback. I bought these cards because basically they had both simplified AND traditional characters on and they were much more up to date that the awful Japanese ones I once bought.

The problems are grouped into 3 types 1) design flaws, 2) problems with pinyin 3) problems for non PRC learners.

design flaws
-old cards (pre 2006) flip left to right, and post 2006 flip top to bottom. So make sure you buy the same sets of prepare to be irritated.
-only post 2006 cards actually have the stroke order and then it’s only for the simp. version.
-some of the actual examples are phrases that are ridiculous and are rarely used:
‘over here silence reigns, you can’t hear a crow or a sparrow.’ [1222]

pinyin flaws
I’m no pinyin expert, I can’t really read it but there seems to be some huge flaws here. These might be the cards or it might just be pinyin.
-no differentiation between certain sounds that look the same in pinyin:

yu and ru
ㄩ ㄖㄨ

zhi and ni
ㄓ ㄋㄧ

yong and gong
ㄩㄥ ㄍㄨㄥ

the pinyin makes it look like these sounds would belong in the same group whereas the bopomofo clearly shows them to be completely different sounds.

problems for non ROC learners
-despite having both simp and trad characters, the compounds are only
-oddly the card for ‘island’ says ‘Taiwan is the biggest island in China’ :noway: Why on earth they would go and write this on a card is beyond me.
-bopomofo is not included
-some of the tones are actually incorrect for Taiwanese mandarin
-some of the characters are just incorrectly written [1094]
-some the examples of simp/trad are actually characters that are used for two different things in Taiwanese mandarin [sorry no example to hand]

[quote=“yamato”]Pinyin flaws