Best bilingual elementary school option for 6-month stay

Hello all,

I am a professor in South Korea (but US/Canadian citizens). We originally intended to come to Taiwan for the 2021-2022 school year, as I have a research sabbatical. I will be affiliated with NTU and doing research, as well as refreshing my very rusty Chinese skills. Of course, with the pandemic now it is very hard to plan, and so now I am planning to shorten our stay and come later, likely February 2022 through the summer.

My daughter is 9 and in 4th grade. She attended a Chinese immersion school (Taiwanese curriculum) here in Korea from kindergarten through the first semester of 4th grade. By the time we are in Taiwan she will have been out of Chinese school (in Korean public school) for almost a year, but we are doing some online tutoring and are hoping that will help her not to forget too much of the Chinese she knows.

I have searched these forums and asked questions on other forums and Facebook groups, but am still having a hard time figuring out what the best option would be for this kind of short stay. I think 6 months is enough to really improve my daughter’s Chinese, and we will continue coming to Taiwan in the long Korean winter breaks to maintain. But she’s not a little kid anymore–will be 10 in August–and the social aspect is important too. A really strict and competitive academic environment will probably not be good for her. I saw recommendations for the Taipei New World Montessori School, as well Waldorf schools. For a short stay I think we can afford this kind of private school. However, I am concerned that the amount of Chinese listening and speaking she would do at these schools would be minimal. A truly bilingual Chinese-English school would be best. Or even all Chinese but more experimental (forest schools, etc.).