Best Spoken Chinese Class in Taipei

I am a working professional interested in learning only spoken Chinese, i understand from the forum that universities NTNU/NTU/MCU etc focuses on writing
and that TLI may be the most suitable.
Kindly suggest a suitable institute/program for spoken Chinese in Taipeo

Thanks

[quote=ā€œblinkjonaā€]I am a working professional interested in learning only spoken Chinese, i understand from the forum that universities NTNU/NTU/MCU etc focuses on writing
and that TLI may be the most suitable.
Kindly suggest a suitable institute/program for spoken Chinese in Taipeo

[/quote]
Basically I agree with the above. A private institute such as TLI will ā€˜letā€™ you study what you want, and if you just want to use the pinyin versions of the textbooks, that will be fine with them.

Hi,

I wonder if someone has some updated information on this? I read a lot of more recent posts about the above-mentioned universities and the focus on writing/reading seems to remain. I have 0 knowledge in Mandarin (but I am ok in reading Japanese kanji) so I am interested in ā€œproperā€ university classes where I also learn the basics of grammar, pronunciation, reading (handwriting would not be crucial in my opinionā€¦).

Is there maybe one university ā€œknownā€ to put more focus than others on conversation? I read for example that in many cases even when you speak, pronunciation will not be corrected, which is of course terrible for a tonal languageā€¦

Thanks and regards,
Fabian

If money is no issue, ICLP is hands down the best program on the island. Small class sizes are more conducive to improving conversational ability. I did not find the emphasis at ICLP to be writing/reading. Class was mostly an exercise of engaging in ever more complex conversation with the teacher, with writing essays being the homework.

Stay away from cheaper programs with larger class sizes where the teachers are a bit old school in their methods.

3 Likes