Best way for girlfriend to study English on her own?

I work 40 hours a week…so I’m not teaching her (before anyone suggests it). And she works 48 hours a week…so studying at a school isn’t practical.

I saw an electronic “pen” that reads and translates text…saying it aloud…but not very clearly. Then I started looking at electronic dictionaries…the more expensive ones have lesson plans in them…but as a teacher I wasn’t too impressed with the lessons, but then again I can’t read the Chinese and I might have not fully understood the features. And I haven’t looked at software…but I’m guessing there are some programs that can be bought for my computer that could help her out…but my version of Windows is in English…and therefore might not be compatible with a primarily Chinese program.

Anyone know of something that has actually worked for anyone? She’s pretty hardworking…and she has a study desk next to my computer. She likes studying at the same time I’m doing stuff on the computer…and I’m always on the computer.

Thanks in advance for any helpful advice.

Translating is basically the worst way to learn a language. Introduce her to Mr. Roget and take away her Chinese/English electronic dictionary. Not one of my students uses a C/E Dictionary beyond their first two weeks with me.

Get her to read aloud everything she can get her hands on.

Write. Keep a daily journal that, as her skills improve, she can return to and edit.

And motivate her by explaining that English = $$$$$$

What Toe Save said. He’s smarter than he looks.