Bilingual Program in Taiwan Public Schools

Is this happening in other cities or is this just a Kaohsiung thing?

I would just like to see if other people are having similar experiences with the mismanagement and total lack of research or evidence based planning behind this whole scheme.

The extent of my guidance has been a pile of Chinese language math text books and the instruction to ‘teach this in English’… Like my kids can all say “2 + 2 = 4” and they can say ‘x is bigger than y’ but unless they go to a buxiban, they can’t do their alphabet or sound out basic phonics :crazy_face:

A delegation from the bureau of education arrived at our school and I tried to explain to them that, based on what I’ve read of bilingual education (since I was told that I am now a bilingual teacher and not an English teacher) the kids need a solid year or two of basic English before we try to teach them things like math in English… I got lots of nods and smiles but no one was really engaging…

Don’t get the wrong idea, for me personally this is a walk in the park, my work load is a joke and the pay is unreal and I get afternoon naps. Professionally I worry I’m getting sloppy so I won’t stay in this system more than another year or so.

Anyway please share stories of the bilingual program if you’re on it :slight_smile:

I would love to reply with my usual rants about bilingual ed in this country, but I think we’ve said most of what I would say here:

The tldr version goes something like: haha yeah right. A bunch of morons who have no right to have anything to do with education at all decided what their version of bilingual ed would look like and stopped short of consulting anyone who might know anything about the subject.

2 Likes

So I’m guessing you’re also on the bilingual program also? :sweat_smile: