Can I avoid becoming a hack English teacher? Need advice

I’d like to finance my Taiwan adventure (and perhaps later on, PRC China), but I’ve never taught ESL and I don’t want to become a hack English teacher.

I have a history degree from an America university. I consider myself very responsible and conscientious. I would rate my understanding of English as “average” or typical of someone with my background and education. I am a fast learner. I am very interested in languages and literature.

I don’t want to rip-off students off by presenting myself as an subject matter expert when clearly I am not. So, I’d like to find a school that would provide sufficient support and training that would allow me a decent chance at success.

Is this realistic or am I doomed to be a hack?

Why not take a TESOL course and get certified?

You are never ‘doomed’ to ripping people off. You have a choice. Googled this for you:http://www.english-international.com/CELTA.html Some of the chains give support and training. Check out Shane. Good luck.

the sad thing is that you won’t be presenting yourself as something special - in many cases, your school will do that for you, whether you have actually done anything, or can barely be bothered to show up on time.

look into some training, as suggested above, and once you are here, talk to people who have done the job for a few years, and enjoy it - not the ones who feel that they have nowhere else to go.

there’s quite a few good threads on here about teaching as well.

good luck :sunglasses:

If what you said in paragraph one is true, then you have little to worry about. If you asked me, I’d tell you not to waste any money getting a certification. Unless you know of a school that will compensate you appropriately for getting one.

Honestly, certification is very much optional.

The important thing is to gain experience and a bit of training. If you are commited to your work you won’t be a hack.