Can I work at two places while having my ARC sponsored by one?

I am studying my bachelor degree in an University in Taiwan, and through this University I have my ARC every year and apply for a working permit every semester. This working permit grants me 20 hours a week of legal work without being tied to any company in specific.

Right now I work at a cram school 12 hours per week and an Elementary school in the after-class English program for 4 hours per week. Once I graduate, I will probably have my ARC sponsored by the cram school, but I still would like to work at the elementary school since they pay me more. Can I do that?

I believe the answer is no. You’re not even allowed to work at a different branch of the same school if it’s not the address you have on the ARC.

5 Likes

You can get additional work permits, I believe. The first work permit needs to be for 14 hours, the second one can add more hours up to a maximum number. I’m not sure the maximum number per week anymore.

1 Like

if the 2nd place can get a work permit for you, you can work.

The total hour should not be more than 32hr, and should not be less than 6 hr for each. Working hour for the 1st employer should not be less than 14hr. So, you can worj for up to 4 places, if teach of them get a work permits for you.

You may find most of info on work permit here.
https://ezworktaiwan.wda.gov.tw/en/cp.aspx?n=071CCB097CD05FFF

1 Like

It sounds like you have a student work permit, so you can work at as many different locations as you want, as long as you don’t exceed the maximum weekly hours or the maximum job duration (6 months).

See Regulations on the Permission and Administration of the Employment of Foreign Workers (雇主聘僱外國人許可及管理辦法) Art. 30 to 35.

If in doubt, contact the Ministry of Labor (www.mol.gov.tw) or your local labor department. Your university should also be able to answer questions about this, but perhaps they only understand how to file the application.

2 Likes