Can recognise characters in my book but nowhere else

I’m now getting towards the end of PAVC, having self-taught at home, but I’m finding that while I’m good at reading the characters in the book, I find it really hard to recognise them outside of that context.

For example, I’ve done the chapter on vocabulary to do with housing, so I know the characters for rooms, floor, etc. etc. but when I look at Taiwanese ads for housing, I really struggle to recognise the characters I know. They are there because after several minutes of painful effort and checking back with my book I do eventually identify them, but I can’t pick them out without a seemingly big effort.

Also, I have a set of flashcards that I look at regularly (they sit next to the toilet) and I experience the same phenomenon. Characters that I know immediately in my book are much more difficult to recognise.

I’m wondering if my brain is working out another way to memorise characters - i.e. almost entirely from the context of the book. It seems like any change of typeface completely throws me. It’s quite demoralising, having done all that work to get through the book, only to find I can’t read the same characters outside of it.

Has anyone else encountered this and how did you work your way around it?

Petrichor: That’s how we learn to read in any language, including our first language. It’s contextual and unless something is immediately very meaningful/memorable, you will forget it. Then you’ll need to encounter it again somewhere else. You’ll forget that too. After enough encounters like that, you’ll eventually be able to recognise it at will.

(I haven’t done what I’m about to tell you a great deal in Chinese, but I’ve/we’ve all done it in English.)