:Canada: VISA run (for Canadian)

OK so I’m sure it’s all been said b4, but…

Canadian guy here… I’ve been teaching (in Tainan) for 2 years now, and it looks like I might have to make a visa run (because of a government “mishap”). My ARC expires August 5, so I gotta run indeed…

I’ve been hearing horror stories about Hong Kong (visa-wise I mean), so I’m thinking of avoiding that place…

Here are my questions:

[b] 1) What’s the next best bet? Bangkok?

1. If so, where to, in Bangkok? Does some1 have the address of the place? (What is the place called?)

2. How long would I have to stay there? How long does it take to process?

3. And… What kind of VISA exactly will I be asking them for? (I’m thinking I probably can’t nor shouldn’t tell them it’s for work).

4. How long a VISA can I ask for? 1 month? 2? 3? 6?

5. Lastly (and unrelated), does one need to get out of Taiwan to go from a work (or visitor) VISA to a student VISA? [/b]

I know, some questions seem rather silly and retarded, but I’m what you can call a “scaredy-cat”, and not at all pleased with the idea of having to leave. I’ve had a friend who recently had to make the run, only to find out he couldn’t come back, leaving all he has here, including his girlfriend! (but, really, that’s another story, and I’m not getting into that). I also want to make this post helpful for other scaredy-cats out there afraid to ask un-macho questions.

That is all. Thanks for your help fellows.

I’ve been to Hong Kong three times for visas. Most of the “horror” stories you hear are from people who went there unprepared. Simply call the Hong Kong TECO office and ask what documents you will need. It really is as simple as that.

A work visa can not be changed to a student visa in Taiwan. A new visitor visa (for the purpose of study) is needed. Please remember to bring all relevant paperwork with you to the TECO office.

Best of luck.

Ok thanks, so Hong Kong it is then, but…

There is still the matter of the unanswered Qs: