Career Change: Would you do this?

I have a neighbor in Yangmei with whom I sometimes would go play golf. He’s a consultant for quality systems (ISO 9001 etc). A while ago, he offered me a chance to work for Taiwanese electronics firm setting up in Mexico and Texas. At the time he offered it to me, I turned it down because I would have had to have left on short notice. Turns out, I have the option of going in the near future with more time to prepare.

The job would be working as a IQA (incoming quality assurance) manager. The product would be flat panel displays. I would handle concerns with suppliers and customers.

The pay is low-- typical of of Taiwanese deals. Approx. 2000 US per month to start (but, then, I have zero experience in this kind of work). Two month bonus annually. Company accomodations at the production facility in Mexico and transport to the HQ in Texas. Full Health insurance (I made damned sure of this if I were to go to the US). Work permits. Salary review after 3-6 months (didn’t work this one out yet). Finally, due to the time difference between Mexico and Taipei, and the fact that I’d have to communicate with Taipei, I am told that overtime payments would likely have me making more than basic salary.

It’s a complete hard right turn from what I’ve been doing up to this point. My neighbor tells me this is a good opportunity and that my aptitude for learning and ability to interface with a Taiwanese organization (my neighbor thinks I get on well with Taiwanese) are what convinced this rather large organization to take me on despite my lack of a technical degree or background.

So, I want to know… should I take this? Would you?

I wouldn’t take it, but that’s because the salary wouldn’t make up for what I was giving up here. I’d have to sell my stuff, loose my furniture and all to earn a declining and dangerous U.S. currency.