Career paths in Taiwan as a translator/teacher

Hi, everyone. I’m 22, European, and my Taiwanese girlfriend is 24. Now we’re doing a LDR, although we meet up quite often. We’ve been together for almost 2 years, when we knew each other during an exchange in France, where she’s living right now.

I am in my 4th year of degree and, in December, I had the idea to apply for a teaching assistant grant in France for 6 months (from October to April); happily, I was selected. The problem though: my GF is searching for jobs following her master and sending résumés like crazy to get her stay in France assured—her student VISA expires on February 2023—but she’s not being lucky so far, so we’re considering moving to Taiwan, as she believes it will be much easier for her to get a job there.

Now, what about me? I’m studying Translation and Interpreting, in a good university.

My languages are Spanish (native), English, French and Arabic. I have a lower command of Arabic than the others, but I think I have quite a good base either way and, as my girlfriend speaks Mandarin, I’m considering starting Chinese as well. Furthermore, since I’ll have a lot of free time (the job is just 12 h/week) I’m thinking too about getting into a course/master degree there on Marketing/Economy/Business.

Incidentally, if borders are open by July, I’ll be visiting there for 2 months to see the ambient a bit.

Do you think I have possibilities to get a job “easily”? Do you think it would be a good option to carry out this idea of the business field for a country like Taiwan?

Thank you in advance.

1 Like

will not be easy, with out Chinese your language pairs are not useful in Taiwan.
you can work remotely for other clients, but there is always a challenge of getting new clients.