Cell Phones for LaoWai folks

LP Taiwan states that FarEast Tone will set up foreigners with cell phone service. People without ARCs have the option of going with Prepaid service or by using a credit card to have payments deducted.

Does anyone know if this is accurate? Anyone used this company before?

I’ve been using FarEast Tone for about 5 months now. We’re doing the prepaid IF cards, and even though I could get an account, I’d rather stay prepaid - it’s too easy to go overboard if you don’t know how much you’re spending!

I think (though I’m not 100% sure) that FarEast Tone is actaully a subsidiary of AT&T in the US. The English menus sound just like my AT&T did at home too! :slight_smile:

I went with the prepaid FarEastTone card for a couple of months before I got my ARC. I don’t even remember whether or not I had to show my passport to get one. You can buy them at 7Eleven. for registering a new number, they are 1000 NTD including 300 NTD worth of air time. Afterwards, you just buy the airtime. It also seemed I got a free number of SMS with each new purchase of a prepaid card.

I switched to post-paid as soon as I had my company licence. I went to their office on Tunhua, and the girl who took care of me seemed very professional (unlike other businesses like my bank where every time I feel like the very first foreigner to change money in Taiwan because nobody knows how to deal with it). Anyway, she filled out the form for me, asked all the right questions and offered on her own account to copy my phone book from the old SIM card to the new one (I kept my number but got a new SIM card).