Certified Teacher (USA) with Master's degree in Teaching moving to Taiwan in July or August

I am a newly certified teacher here in the USA for English Language Arts for grades 6-12 and will be graduating with my Master of Arts in Teaching in mid June.

A friend of mine with similar credentials and I are planning to take a trip to Taiwan and look for teaching jobs. Neither of us have TEFL certification, but I would think that our Master’s degrees and teaching licences make up for that.

Will we need to get our TEFL certification?

I also spoke to a recruiter from the International TEFL Academy who said that Taiwan doesn’t hire very much in-person and mostly hires via Skype now. Is this true?

With my friend and my teaching credentials, will we likely be able to find a decent job if we have enough money to stay for 1-2 months without seeking TEFL certification?

Thanks for any help.

What kind of job are you looking for? Something longer term in a school, or more of cram school type work?

I would probably be fine with either. I think mostly I’m interested in a good work environment with decent pay to live in Taipei probably. I probably wouldn’t want to commit anywhere more than a year as I may move back home or somewhere else after a year.

Well, you definitely don’t need TEFL for a cram school. But with your master’s you don’t have to do that if you want to stay for a while. Less sure how much TEFL might help you in those kind of jobs.

1 Like