Character, symbol, letter,

I studied Chinese at university and we always used the term character to refer to the Chinese ‘characters’. Now I’m doing an additional year of computer science and he mentioned Chinese and referred to it as symbols. So we ended up in a discussion.
In Dutch we use the word ‘karakter’ probably because this comes from English, but why is the character used in English.
Is a Chinese character a symbol ? is it a sign ? Are all characters symbols and all symbols signs ? (but not the other way around?)
We agreed that it were not letters since there is no alphabet …
I would like to hear people opinion about that … or if somebody has a good book, revieuw, discussion, text,… on this subject I would be very interested, because I could then refer to that instead of justing saying ‘I learned it that way’, 'we always use the term character", ‘it’s just that way’ …

maybe this belongs in culture and history … but i thought it had more to do with the language so I ended up posting it here

The way I see it.

• character is an acceptable translation for

All words and their component parts (characters, letters, radicals) are symbols of course. It seems stupid to refer to Chinese

You can’t refer to Chinese characters just as : ideographs or just pictographs. Because some are ideographs, some are pictographs and others are just made up and have no ideographic/pictographic meaning left.

The way I see it is that a zi is a sole character and a ci is a word. a ci is composed of different zi. That’s why there’s a diffence between a cidian and a zidian (a word-dictionary and a character-dictionary). And ci i would translate as ‘word’. Just like in English, ‘a’ is a letter and ‘ape’ word made from different letters (a,p,e)

As far is i know people who are busy with Chinese use the term character while people unfamiliar with Chinese use ‘symbol,sign,character,letter,…’ but where does the usage of character come from then …