Chemistry jobs in Taiwan

In September of 2014, I plan to move from Canada to Taipei with my wife, who is a Taiwanese citizen. I’ve been looking online to see what sort of chemistry-related jobs are available, and so far the search isn’t going too well. I do think I’ve got a pretty solid resume. In August I will graduate with a MSc in Chemistry, I’ve got a handful of original research publications in good journals, I’ve won several academic awards including one at an international conference (research awards, not something irrelevant such as an award for getting an A+ in school), and I’ve got several years of research experience involving various aspects of analytical chemistry (vibrational spectroscopy, SEM, nanotechnology, electrochemistry and biochemical detection). On top of that, I work well with others and I’ve got good life experience, such as having visited over 20 countries around the world, and that I can speak English, French, and Spanish fluently, pretty good Italian, along with German and Portuguese to a limited extent (Mandarin is still a work in progress… :wink: ). I think I would be a competitive candidate for a chemistry-related job in Canada, either a research job or one that could involve international business, but I can’t seem to find much online in Taiwan. Everything advertised seems to be about either teaching English, computer programming, or semiconductors. The “good” chemistry jobs seem to be only faculty positions at universities, which of course require a PhD. I have a suspicion (but no facts to necessarily back it up) that entry level / low-pay routine lab work jobs may not be advertised online in English, because it wouldn’t be overly common for a foreigner to be searching for this sort of work in Taiwan. Can anyone point me in the right direction / give suggestions about where I can find an appropriate job in Taiwan? Any help is much appreciated! :slight_smile: