Child abuse?

One of my fifteen year old students mentioned (twice now) that she sometimes gets into fights with her parents that result in her being bruised. She didn’t seem too upset by it, but she could be just playing it cool. I’m a new teacher, so I’ve never been in this situation before. In the U.S., I know there are mandatory reporting laws about stuff like this. I care about this student quite a bit, but I’m not sure if getting her family into trouble will be the best thing for her. She’s extremely intelligent, and seems capable of making her own decisions regarding whether to involve the authorities. What do I do?

Report it to the appropriate body. Regardless of how it turns out at least you can look yourself in the mirror without feeling ashamed.

EDIT: before anyone says she can tell the authorities on her own, she already did. The authority she chose was you. She expects you to do the appropriate thing with the information she gave you.

You’re in a really tough spot and all I can say is good luck. I agree with skoster – she may be able to make her own decisions, but that doesn’t mean she is clear-minded on the issue. A lot of people, especially in family-driven Taiwan but also everywhere in the world, let familial abuse go unreported because they don’t want to bring trouble onto the family. (If you’ve ever watched a Lifetime original movie, you know the story.) Unfortunately I don’t know who you should report it to, or if there is anything they can even do about it.

tsukinodeynatsu posted this in an old thread:

english.dvpc.taipei.gov.tw/mp.asp?mp=107042

Additionally, from the same old thread: