Chinese names

When I first came here I signed a document that empowered my agent to handle all my visa/ARC stuff for me. When it eventually came through I suddenly realised that I now had a chinese name.

Yikes! It’s basically my initials, sounds awful, and doesn’t really mean anything - as far as I know. I’ve been carrying it around for a couple of years now, and really need to do something about it. If nothing else I might get more motivated to speak Chinese if I felt comfortable introducing myself.

Assuming I can get the authorities to let me change it, how the hell would I go about picking a name? Ask my students? Consult an image consultancy? Copy something from an advert? How did you guys aquire your labels?

NB My computer doesn’t read chinese, and neither do I. Pinyin does just fine, thanks.

There’s a thread about this somewhere, but change your name when you renew your ARC. Get them to put it in the remarks on the back. Or you can just start using it for things like filling in forms, registering at the video store, or even putting on a namecard.

Get someone to choose something for you and make it clear that you want a proper Chinese name, not something silly like a transliteratiopn of your English name. So that should be 2 or 3 characters. Pick a real surname too. Something easy to write is a good idea, so something like wang is better than xie or something. Don’t choose a name like xu which there are two variations of, otherwise you’ll have to keep explaining which one. Make it clear that you don’t want a stupid name like ‘xiao long’. People will just laugh.

Brian

I’d suggest wandering by a decent restaurant and asking a waiter. Worked for me.

Have your bf, gf, or ‘special someone’ pick the name for you. Though, they don’t have to go through the process my bf did, which was to pick something that had meaning, as well as sounded similar to my English name. Plus, he counted strokes, checked to make sure the resultant # was a lucky number, etc…