Class singular or plural

A question for ‘qualified’ Enlish teachers. Is the word class, as in my homeroom class, singular or plural. My Taiwanese junior high nephews had a test recently and an answer was ‘The class are having lunch now.’ Now my wife and I have been teaching for about 15 years each, so she called the teacher (local). She rather patronizingly said that my wife didn’t know grammar, and that foreigners teaching here didn’t either. My wife also called the book publisher which the test was based on and pretty much got the same response. So I’m laying it before the panel; which is correct, ‘The class are having lunch now.’ or ‘The class is having lunch now.’?

Both are acceptable and the choice is based on desired emphasis. One version is more common in Brit. Eng. and one more common in Am. Eng. but I’ve forgotten which way round it is.

We had a discussion on the same topic recently. I think the noun in question in that case was “company”. Government is another good example. If you want to emphasize government as a single body, you use the singular. If you want to emphasize the fact that a government is made up of individuals, you use the plural.

It depends if you are talking about the class as a single entity or as a group of individuals.

The class is going to see a play this weekend means that the class, as a group, is going. The class are arguing very loudly means that the individuals within the class are arguing with each other (if you said the class is arguing, it would mean that the class is unified and therefore arguing with someone else or another group).

Sometimes either will do: The class is having lunch could mean that the whole class is on lunch break or that each member of the class is having something to eat.

In the UK, it is preferable to treat groups as plural (The government are …), while in the States groups are treated for the most part as singular (The government is …).

Hope that helps.