Coming to taibei in 2 weeks, finding place near taida?

Hello, I’m coming to taibei soon and when I arrive I have no place to stay. I want to get a place as soon as I can, and wanted to look at some ads now already so I know somewhat to expect price-wise. (I don’t know anyone in taibei yet, so I might have to go apartment hunting alone). Problem is I’m not familiar with taibei, so I don’t know what places are close to or have a conveniant travel route to taida. Searching for ads with keyword “taida” gives few results, what are some neighbourhood names i might try? Or subway/bus stations that are conveniant?
I would prefer to live with other people, chinese or ex-pat, both okey. When I studied in beijing I remember there were always ads on campus announcement boards for people looking to share apartments, will I have any luck with that If i travel to Taida?
Thanks for any help!

There are lots of apartments around there – and lots of students (from several schools) to fill them up.

The area around Tai-Da is known as Gongguan. That’s also the name of the MRT (subway) stop there. The abbreviation “NTU” is often used, too. So try “Gongguan” and “NTU” when scanning English-language sites, such as Taiwanted.

For more sites to try and lots of good advice, read through Forumosa’s Real Estate & Housing forum.

Try www.taiwanted.com :slight_smile:

This city is generally known is Taipei.

You may have better luck looking for places using the keyword ‘Taida.’ Taida is a neighborhood known as Gongguan. The best place by far online to look is Tsui Mama. The site is organized by districts of Taipei. Nearby districts include Zhongzheng, Daan, and Wenshan. Daan is the nicest and most expensive. Wenshan is the cheapest. Cheaper still is Yonge across the river.